Bank Or Bin

Bank It Or Bin It #22 [organising my goodreads want to read shelf]

My Goodreads Want To Read List has 300+ books on it and sadly I cannot stop time to read them all, so it’s time to PURGE. This is edition #22 and I’m happy to say that we’ve got the list down a good half way now!

I’m going to choose a few books once a fortnight and Bank Them, keeping them on my Want To Read shelf, or Bin Them, removing them from my wishlist entirely.

Let’s go!

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

High school senior Frank Li is a Limbo–his term for Korean-American kids who find themselves caught between their parents’ traditional expectations and their own Southern California upbringing. His parents have one rule when it comes to romance – “Date Korean” – which proves complicated when Frank falls for Brit Means, who is smart, beautiful – and white. Fellow Limbo Joy Song is in a similar predicament, and so they make a pact: they’ll pretend to date each other in order to gain their freedom. Frank thinks it’s the perfect plan, but in the end, Frank and Joy’s fake-dating maneuver leaves him wondering if he ever really understood love – or himself – at all.

Verdict – Bin It

This book is like marmite, looking at the reviews. I think I would end up finding the main character annoying, as I rarely like male POVs in contemporary romance.

The Homeward Bounders by Diana Wynne Jones

“You are now a discard. We have no further use for you in play. You are free to walk the Bounds, but it will be against the rules for you to enter play in any world. If you succeed in returning Home, then you may enter play again in the normal manner.”

When Jamie unwittingly discovers the scary, dark-cloaked Them playing games with human’s lives, he is cast out to the boundaries of the worlds. Only then does he discover that there are a vast number of parallel worlds, all linked by the bounds, and these sinister creatures are using them all as a massive gamesboard.

Clinging to Their promise that if he can get Home he is free, he becomes the unwilling Random Factor in an endless game of chance.

Irresistible Diana Wynne Jones fantasy adventure, featuring an insect-loving shapeshifter, an apprentice demon hunter and a whole host of exotic characters clinging to the hope that one day they will return Home.

Verdict – Bank It

This was first published in 1981, and I do love 80s fantasy. I really want the vintage cover pictured above, but I can’t find it to buy.

All the Pretty Things by Emily Arsenault

For fans of Sadie and The Cheerleaders comes an all new thriller about a boy who turns up dead under suspicious circumstances and the one girl who may be the key to solving the mystery of his untimely death.

For Ivy, summer means roller-coaster season, spinning cotton candy at the Fabuland amusement park, and hanging out with her best friend, Morgan. But this summer is different.

One morning, Morgan finds a dead body. It’s their former classmate and coworker Ethan. To make matters worse, Morgan is taken to a hospital psych ward only days later, and she’s not saying much–not even to Ivy.

The police claim that Ethan simply took a bad fall, but Ivy isn’t convinced and realizes it’s up to her to get answers. What she finds is unsettling–it’s clear that some people aren’t being honest about Ethan’s last night at Fabuland. Including Morgan. And the more secrets Ivy uncovers, the closer she gets to unraveling dark truths that will change her life forever.

Verdict – Bin It

I’m reading and loving many murder mystery books in the last year, but what made me decide to remove this from my list was the Goodreads Community Rating – 3.16. This is shockingly low, and readers say that is was very boring, predictable and the main character was annoying.

If I’m Being Honest by Emily Wibberley & Austin Siegemund-Broka

High school senior Cameron Bright’s reputation can be summed up in one word: bitch. It’s no surprise she’s queen bee at her private L.A. high school—she’s beautiful, talented, and notorious for her cutting and brutal honesty. So when she puts her foot in her mouth in front of her crush, Andrew, she fears she may have lost him for good.

In an attempt to win him over, Cameron resolves to “tame” herself, much like Katherine in Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew. First, she’ll have to make amends with those she’s wronged, which leads her to Brendan, the guy she labelled with an unfortunate nickname back in the sixth grade. At first, Brendan isn’t all that receptive to Cameron’s ploy. But slowly, he warms up to her when they connect over the computer game he’s developing. Now if only Andrew would notice…

But the closer Cameron gets to Brendan, the more she sees he appreciates her personality—honesty and all—and wonders if she’s compromising who she is for the guy she doesn’t even want.

Verdict – Bank It

I am obsessed with Emily and Austin’s book covers, I just haven’t got round to reading them yet. Hopefully I can change that soon!

The Dead Girls’ Dance by Rachel Caine
(The Morganville Vampires #2)

Claire has her share of challenges. Like being a genius in a school that favours beauty over brains; homicidal girls in her dorm, and finding out that her college town is overrun with the living dead. On the up side, she has a new boyfriend with a vampire-hunting dad. But when a local fraternity throws the Dead Girls’ Dance, hell is really going to break loose.

Verdict – Bank It

Yet another series I want to continue.

Winterspell by Claire Legrand

The clock chimes midnight, a curse breaks, and a girl meets a prince…but what follows is not all sweetness and sugarplums.

New York City, 1899. Clara Stole, the mayor’s ever-proper daughter, leads a double life. Since her mother’s murder, she has secretly trained in self-defense with the mysterious Drosselmeyer.

Then, on Christmas Eve, disaster strikes.

Her home is destroyed, her father abducted—by beings distinctly not human. To find him, Clara journeys to the war-ravaged land of Cane. Her only companion is the dethroned prince Nicholas, bound by a wicked curse. If they’re to survive, Clara has no choice but to trust him, but his haunted eyes burn with secrets—and a need she can’t define. With the dangerous, seductive faery queen Anise hunting them, Clara soon realizes she won’t leave Cane unscathed—if she leaves at all.

Inspired by The NutcrackerWinterspell is a dark, timeless fairy tale about love and war, longing and loneliness, and a girl who must learn to live without fear.

Verdict – Bin It

I’m sad to remove such a gorgeous cover from my shelves but another reviewer said that this book is nothing like The Nutcracker – I’m currently reading an Alice In Wonderland retelling that is nothing like Alice In Wonderland, and this has already become my pet peeve.

Did any of these books make their way on to your shelves? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Bank It Or Bin It #22 [organising my goodreads want to read shelf]

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s