top ten tuesday

Top Six / Spooky Books Releasing In 2022 / Top Ten Tuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday theme is a Halloween freebie, so what better than some spooky reads to look forward to? I initially wasn’t too excited about 2022, but I discovered so many books last week that’s changed that completely. 2022 is going to have so many unique stories!

Extasia by Claire Legranda

From New York Times bestselling author Claire LeGrand comes a new, bone-chilling YA horror novel about a girl who joins a coven to root out a vicious evil that’s stalking her village. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Grace Year.

Her name is unimportant.

All you must know is that today she will become one of the four saints of Haven. The elders will mark her and place the red hood on her head. With her sisters, she will stand against the evil power that lives beneath the black mountain—an evil which has already killed nine of her village’s men.

She will tell no one of the white-eyed beasts that follow her. Or the faceless gray women tall as houses. Or the girls she saw kissing in the elm grove.

Today she will be a saint of Haven. She will rid her family of her mother’s shame at last and save her people from destruction. She is not afraid. Are you?

This searing and lyrically written novel by the critically acclaimed author of Sawkill Girls beckons readers to follow its fierce heroine into a world filled with secrets and blood—where the truth is buried in lies and a devastating power waits, seething, for someone brave enough to use it.

Released – February

I Am the Ghost in Your House by Maria Romasco Moore

Born invisible, seventeen-year-old Pie wants more from life than lurking unseen in other people’s houses, but when she finally reveals herself, her mother disappears, and Pie begins to question everything she thought she knew.

Released – April

Go Hunt Me by Kelly deVos

For Dracula lovers and fans of Diana Urban’s All Your Twisted Secrets,this spine-tingling thriller follows seven horror buffs as their dream trip to a remote Romanian castle turns into a nightmare when they begin to be killed one by one.

Alex Rush is ready for the trip of a lifetime.

She and her friends have made some creepily awesome films together throughout high school, so with only a few months left before they go their separate ways for college, they’re determined to make the best one yet: an epic documentary about the real inspiration for Dracula, filmed on location at a remote castle in Romania.

But when they get there, it’s not quite the majestic setting they planned for. Menacing weapons line the walls, the twisted halls are easy to get lost in, and with no connection to the outside world, the group is unexpectedly off the grid. After just a few hours spent under its roof, Alex and her friends have no trouble imagining how this dark, terrifying castle inspired one of the most enduring horror novels of all time.

Only soon they no longer have to use their imaginations to understand the location’s terrifying history—just as they get the documentary’s first shot rolling, one of Alex’s friends disappears, and she’s nearly certain she saw a cloaked stranger lurking in the shadows. As more members of the group begin to meet an untimely demise, Alex is desperate to stop the bloodshed, even if it means facing a monster she never thought would be let loose.

Released – June

The Society For Soulless Girls by Laura Steven

“A sapphic retelling of Jekyll & Hyde in a dark academia setting, perfect for fans of The Secret History, Plain Bad Heroines and Ninth House.”

Released – July

These Fleeting Shadows by Kate Alice Marshall

“THESE FLEETING SHADOWS is The Haunting of Hill House meets Knives Out in a bid for an inheritance that will leave Helen Vaughan either rich…or dead. With a queer romance will keep you turning pages and jump scares that will keep the lights on!”

Released – August

What Monstrous Gods by Rosamund Hodge

“The book, What Monstrous Gods, starts where “Sleeping Beauty” leaves off, as Lia, a girl chosen by the gods of Runakhia, releases the royal family from 500 years of enchanted sleep and kills the heretic sorcerer who trapped them—only to find that the gods are not as benevolent as they appear, and the ghost of the sorcerer she killed may be her only help to protect her life and country.”

Released – Unknown

Which 2022 releases are you looking forward to? Let me know in the comments!

Follow me: Twitter / Instagram

Advertisement

16 thoughts on “Top Six / Spooky Books Releasing In 2022 / Top Ten Tuesday

  1. I don’t read a ton of spooky books, so the 2022 releases I’m looking forward to aren’t that genre. But I’m excited to read Edgewood by Kristen Ciccarelli, The Summer We Forgot by Caroline George, and All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir. I’m sure there are many, many others I’ll read but those came to mind first!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s