Book Reviews

One for All by Lillie Lainoff // Book Review

Blurb An OwnVoices, gender-bent retelling of The Three Musketeers, in which a girl with a chronic illness trains as a Musketeer and uncovers secrets, sisterhood, and self-love. Tania de Batz is most herself with a sword in her hand. Everyone in town thinks her near-constant dizziness makes her weak, nothing but “a sick girl”; even her mother… Continue reading One for All by Lillie Lainoff // Book Review

Book Reviews

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor // Book Review

Blurb For fans of Caraval and The Night Circus, this decadent and darkly enchanting YA fantasy, set against the backdrop of a Belle Époque-inspired hotel, follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique. All her life, Jani has dreamed of Elsewhere. Just barely scraping by with her job… Continue reading Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor // Book Review

Book Reviews

City Spies by James Ponti // Book Review

Blurb Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time.… Continue reading City Spies by James Ponti // Book Review

Book Reviews

This May End Badly by Samantha Markum // Book Review

Blurb Pranking mastermind Doe and her motley band of Weston girls are determined to win the century-long war against Winfield Academy before the clock ticks down on their senior year. But when their headmistress announces that The Weston School will merge with its rival the following year, their longtime feud spirals into chaos. To protect… Continue reading This May End Badly by Samantha Markum // Book Review

Book Reviews

The Balloon Thief by Aneesa Marufu // Book Review

Blurb For Khadija, the only escape from her father’s arranged betrothal is the sky. When she spots a rogue hot air balloon fighting against its ropes, she leaps at the chance for adventure. Khadija soon finds an unlikely ally in a poor glassmaker’s apprentice, Jacob. But Jacob is a hāri, and Khadija a Ghadaean. The… Continue reading The Balloon Thief by Aneesa Marufu // Book Review

Book Reviews

Wranglestone by Darren Charlton // Book Review

Blurb The islands of Lake Wranglestone are a safe haven in a world filled with the Restless Dead. But as the lake freezes over, there’s nothing to stop them from crossing the ice. Peter’s has never really felt at home in a place where practicality and grit are valued above all else. He’s nothing like… Continue reading Wranglestone by Darren Charlton // Book Review

Book Reviews

Every Stolen Breath by Kimberly Gabriel // Book Review

Blurb The Swarm is unrecognizable, untraceable, and unpredictable—random attacks on the streets of Chicago by a mob of crazed teens that leaves death in its wake. It’s been two years since the last attack, but Lia Finch has found clues that reveal the Swarm is ready to claim a new victim. Winner of the 2020… Continue reading Every Stolen Breath by Kimberly Gabriel // Book Review

Book Reviews

The Silent Unseen by Amanda McCrina // Book Review

Blurb Poland, July 1944. Sixteen-year-old Maria is making her way home after years of forced labor in Nazi Germany, only to find her village destroyed and her parents killed in a war between the Polish Resistance and Ukrainian nationalists. To Maria’s shock, the local Resistance unit is commanded by her older brother, Tomek―who she thought… Continue reading The Silent Unseen by Amanda McCrina // Book Review

Book Reviews

So This Is Ever After by F.T. Lukens // Book Review

Blurb Carry On meets Arthurian legend in this funny, subversive young adult fantasy about what happens after the chosen one wins the kingdom and has to get married to keep it…and to stay alive. Arek hadn’t thought much about what would happen after he completed the prophecy that said he was destined to save the Kingdom… Continue reading So This Is Ever After by F.T. Lukens // Book Review

Book Reviews

Survive the Dome by Kosoko Jackson // Book Review

Blurb Black Lives Matter meets Attack the Block with a dash of Under the Dome in this stunning story of teens using their talents to liberate a city from unjust police occupation Jamal Lawson just wanted to be a part of something. As an aspiring journalist, he packs up his camera and heads to Baltimore to document… Continue reading Survive the Dome by Kosoko Jackson // Book Review