Book Reviews

Stealing Home by J Torres & David Namisato / Graphic Novel Review / Remembering A Dark Chapter Of History Through Baseball

Blurb When a boy struggles after moving to a Japanese internment camp during WWII, baseball shows him another way to approach life. Sandy Saito is a happy boy who reads comic books and is obsessed with baseball --- especially the Asahi team, the pride of his Japanese Canadian community. But when the Japanese attack Pearl… Continue reading Stealing Home by J Torres & David Namisato / Graphic Novel Review / Remembering A Dark Chapter Of History Through Baseball

Book Reviews

A Rush Of Wings by Laura E. Weymouth / Book Review / An Andersen tale with Arthurian vibes

Blurb For fans of Serpent & Dove and A House of Salt and Sorrows comes a darkly atmospheric and romantic fantasy about an untrained witch who must unlock her power to free her brothers from a terrible curse and save her home. Rowenna Winthrop has always known there’s magic within her. But though she hears voices on the wind… Continue reading A Rush Of Wings by Laura E. Weymouth / Book Review / An Andersen tale with Arthurian vibes

Book Reviews

Magic by Lylian K & Audrey Molinatti / Graphic Novel Review / Studio Ghibli Vibes In A Magical London Town

Blurb A baby girl born with purple hair is promptly handed over to a convent by her horrified father, who fears she bears the sign of the witch. And indeed, little Evelyn seems to have strange powers and to attract supernatural manifestations as she grows up among the nuns, who patiently put up with it… Continue reading Magic by Lylian K & Audrey Molinatti / Graphic Novel Review / Studio Ghibli Vibes In A Magical London Town

Book Reviews

She Who Rides The Storm by Caitlin Sangster / Book Review / This Book Was So Bloody Long

Blurb In this atmospheric YA fantasy that is Wicked Saints meets There Will Come a Darkness, four teens are drawn into a high-stakes heist in the perilous tomb of an ancient shapeshifter king. Long ago, shapeshifting monsters ruled the Commonwealth using blasphemous magic that fed on the souls of their subjects. Now, hundreds of years later, a new… Continue reading She Who Rides The Storm by Caitlin Sangster / Book Review / This Book Was So Bloody Long

Book Reviews

Dark And Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain / Book Review / Magical Realism Clashes With Murder Mystery

Blurb A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in the bayou, where magic festers beneath the surface of the swamp like water rot, in this chilling debut supernatural thriller for fans of Natasha Preston, Karen McManus, and Rory Power. La Cachette, Louisiana, is the worst place to be if you have something to… Continue reading Dark And Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain / Book Review / Magical Realism Clashes With Murder Mystery

Book Reviews

Mazie by Melanie Crowder / Books Review / A Small Town Girl Meets The Bright Lights Of 1950s Broadway

Blurb An eighteen-year-old aspiring actress trades in starry Nebraska skies for the bright lights of 1950s Broadway in this show-stopping new novel from award-winning author Melanie Crowder. Mazie has dreamed of being on Broadway since she could walk. Growing up in her small Nebraska town, that always seemed like an impossible dream. But when Mazie's… Continue reading Mazie by Melanie Crowder / Books Review / A Small Town Girl Meets The Bright Lights Of 1950s Broadway

Book Reviews

The Night When No One Had Sex by Kalena Miller / Book Review / A Quick, Chaotic Tale Of A Prom Night Gone Wrong

Blurb It's the night of senior prom, and eighteen-year-old Julia has made a pact with her friends. (Yes, that kind of pact.) They have secured a secluded cabin in the woods, one night without parental supervision, and plenty of condoms. But as soon as they leave the dance, the pact begins to unravel. Alex's grandmother… Continue reading The Night When No One Had Sex by Kalena Miller / Book Review / A Quick, Chaotic Tale Of A Prom Night Gone Wrong

Book Reviews

Little Thieves by Margaret Owen / Book Review / An Unapologetically Queer, Chaotic Tale Of Gods And Gremlin Girls

Blurb Once upon a time, there was a horrible girl... Vanja Schmidt knows that no gift is freely given, not even a mother's love--and she's on the hook for one hell of a debt. Vanja, the adopted goddaughter of Death and Fortune, was Princess Gisele's dutiful servant up until a year ago. That was when… Continue reading Little Thieves by Margaret Owen / Book Review / An Unapologetically Queer, Chaotic Tale Of Gods And Gremlin Girls

Book Reviews

The Lab by Hervé Bourhis & Lucas Varela / Graphic Novel Review / Drugs And Feminism In The Dawn Of Tech

Blurb What if… France created the PC first? What if France came up with cell phones? What if France invented the internet? What if it all came crashing down to the ground and was forgotten? Nestling its fictional story in a well-researched historical context, “The Lab” tells the story of these long-neglected French pioneers of… Continue reading The Lab by Hervé Bourhis & Lucas Varela / Graphic Novel Review / Drugs And Feminism In The Dawn Of Tech

Book Reviews

This Train Is Being Held by Ismée Amiel Williams / Book Review / Ballet Meets Baseball In NYC

Blurb When private school student Isabelle Warren first meets Dominican-American Alex Rosario on the downtown 1 train, she remembers his green eyes and his gentlemanly behavior. He remembers her untroubled happiness, something he feels all rich kids must possess. That, and her long dancer legs. Over the course of multiple subway encounters spanning the next… Continue reading This Train Is Being Held by Ismée Amiel Williams / Book Review / Ballet Meets Baseball In NYC