Book Reviews

Rebel Skies by Ann Sei Lin // Book Review

Blurb Teen fantasy adventure set in a world of flying ships and sky cities, where chosen ones have the ability to bring paper to life and work as Crafters - people who hunt wild paper spirits called shikigami. Inspired by Asian culture and exploring themes of empire, slavery and freedom. Kurara has never known any… Continue reading Rebel Skies by Ann Sei Lin // Book Review

Book Reviews

Lines of Courage by Jennifer A. Nielsen // Book Review

Blurb The stories of five kids living through World War I, each of whom holds the key to the others' futures... if they are lucky - and brave - enough to find each other. World War I stretches its cruel fingers across Europe, where five young people, each from different backgrounds and nations, face the… Continue reading Lines of Courage by Jennifer A. Nielsen // Book Review

Book Reviews

Jennifer Chan Is Not Alone by Tae Keller // Book Review

Blurb A story about a girl who is alienated by her friends . . . for believing in aliens. Sometimes middle school can make you feel like you're totally alone in the universe...but what if we aren't alone at all? Mallory Moss knows how the world works. After meeting the cool girl, Reagan, she finally… Continue reading Jennifer Chan Is Not Alone by Tae Keller // Book Review

Book Reviews

Blood to Poison by Mary Watson // Book Review

Blurb Seventeen-year-old Savannah is cursed. It's a sinister family heirloom; passed down through the bloodline for hundreds of years, with one woman in every generation destined to die young. The family call them Hella's girls, named for their ancestor Hella; the enslaved woman with whom it all began. Hella's girls are always angry, especially in… Continue reading Blood to Poison by Mary Watson // Book Review

Book Reviews

Lifeling by Kirsty Applebaum // Book Review

Blurb Lonny is a lifeling. He has the power to heal any living creature and bring it back from the dead. But he pays a price for this gift – by lengthening the creature’s life, he shortens his own. So Lonny has to be careful, has to stay hidden in the forest. Because if people… Continue reading Lifeling by Kirsty Applebaum // Book Review

Book Reviews

Remember Me Gone by Stacy Stokes // Book Review

Blurb Lucy Miller's family has the unique ability to remove people's painful memories--but Lucy isn't prepared for truths she will uncover. People come from everywhere to forget. At the Memory House, in Tumble Tree, Texas, Lucy's father can literally erase folks' heartache and tragic memories. Lucy can't wait to learn the family trade and help… Continue reading Remember Me Gone by Stacy Stokes // Book Review

Book Reviews

See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon // Book Review

Blurb Barrett Bloom is hoping college will be a fresh start after a messy high school experience. But when school begins on September 21st, everything goes wrong. She’s humiliated by the know-it-all in her physics class, she botches her interview for the college paper, and at a party that night, she accidentally sets a frat… Continue reading See You Yesterday by Rachel Lynn Solomon // Book Review

Book Reviews

One for All by Lillie Lainoff // Book Review

Blurb An OwnVoices, gender-bent retelling of The Three Musketeers, in which a girl with a chronic illness trains as a Musketeer and uncovers secrets, sisterhood, and self-love. Tania de Batz is most herself with a sword in her hand. Everyone in town thinks her near-constant dizziness makes her weak, nothing but “a sick girl”; even her mother… Continue reading One for All by Lillie Lainoff // Book Review

Book Reviews

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor // Book Review

Blurb For fans of Caraval and The Night Circus, this decadent and darkly enchanting YA fantasy, set against the backdrop of a Belle Époque-inspired hotel, follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique. All her life, Jani has dreamed of Elsewhere. Just barely scraping by with her job… Continue reading Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor // Book Review

Book Reviews

City Spies by James Ponti // Book Review

Blurb Sara Martinez is a hacker. She recently broke into the New York City foster care system to expose her foster parents as cheats and lawbreakers. However, instead of being hailed as a hero, Sara finds herself facing years in a juvenile detention facility and banned from using computers for the same stretch of time.… Continue reading City Spies by James Ponti // Book Review